LICS 2010: Call for Papers

LICS 2010 - Twenty-Fifth Annual IEEE Symposium on Logic in Computer Science

Edinburgh, UK, July 11-14, 2010

A PDF version of this call can be found here.

Important dates:

All deadlines are at midnight (GMT); late submissions will not be possible.


LICS 2010 will be organized as part of the Fifth Federated Logic Conference (FLoC 2010) to be held in Edinburgh from July 9 to 21.

The LICS Symposium is an annual international forum on theoretical and practical topics in computer science that relate to logic broadly construed. We invite submissions on topics that fit under that rubric. Suggested, but not exclusive, topics of interest for submissions include: automata theory in connection with logic, automated deduction, categorical models and logics, concurrency and distributed computation, constraint programming, constructive mathematics, database theory, decidable theories, domain theory, finite model theory, first-order logic, formal aspects of program analysis, formal methods, game semantics, higher-order logic, hybrid systems, lambda and combinatory calculi, linear logic, logical aspects of computational complexity, logical frameworks, logics in artificial intelligence, logics of programs, logic programming, modal and temporal logics, model checking, probabilistic systems, process calculi, programming language semantics, proof theory, reasoning about security, rewriting, type systems and type theory, and verification. We welcome submissions in emergent areas, such as bioinformatics and quantum computation, if they have a substantial connection with logic.

Submission will be open at the Easychair website.

Submission Instructions

Every extended abstract must be submitted in the IEEE Proceedings two-column camera-ready format and may be no longer than 10 pages including references with a font size of 10pt. Submissions instructions including LATEX style files are available from here.

The abstract must be in English and provide sufficient detail to allow the program committee to assess the merits of the paper. It should begin with a succinct statement of the issues, a summary of the main results, and a brief explanation of their significance and relevance to the conference and to computer science, all phrased for the non-specialist. Technical development directed to the specialist should follow. References and comparisons with related work should be included. If necessary, detailed proofs of technical results can be included in a clearlylabelled appendix in the same two-column format following the 10-page extended abstract or there can be a pointer to an existing manuscript on a website. This material may be read at the discretion of the program committee. Extended abstracts not conforming to the above requirements concerning format and length may be rejected without further consideration.

The results must be unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere, including the proceedings of other symposia or workshops. The PC chair should be informed of closely related work submitted to a conference or journal in advance of submission. All authors of accepted papers will be expected to sign copyright release forms. One author of each accepted paper will be expected to present it at the conference.

Short Presentations

LICS 2010 will have a session of short (10 minute) presentations. This session is intended for descriptions of work in progress, student projects, and relevant research being published elsewhere; other brief communications may be acceptable. Submissions for these presentations, in the form of short abstracts (1 or 2 pages long), should be entered at the LICS 2010 submission site in a time frame to be advertised on the LICS 2010 website.

Kleene Award for Best Student Paper

An award in honour of the late S. C. Kleene will be given for the best student paper, as judged by the program committee. Details concerning eligibility criteria and procedure for consideration for this award will be posted at the LICS website. The committee may decline to make the award or split it among several papers.

Colocated events

The following conferences are colocated with LICS at FLoC 2010: CAV, CSF, ICLP, IJCAR, ITP, RTA, SAT, as indicated on the FLoC homepage. There will also be a number of workshops sponsored by the FLoC conferences. Details on workshops affiliated with LICS can be found at the LICS 2010 website.


The symposium is sponsored by the IEEE Technical Committee on Mathematical Foundations of Computing in cooperation with the Association for Symbolic Logic and the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science.

Program Chairs

Jean-Pierre Jouannaud, INRIA & Tsinghua University, China

Program Committee:

Parosh Abdulla, Uppsala University, Sweden
Albert Atserias, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain
Franz Baader, TU Dresden, Germany
Krishnendu Chatterjee, Institute of Science and Technology (IST), Austria
Yijia Chen, JiaoTong University, China
Veronique Cortier, CNRS, Loria, France
Vincent Danos, CNRS, France
Martin Escardo, School of Computer Science, University of Birmingham, United Kingdom
Javier Esparza, Technische Universit√§t M√ľnchen, Germany
Amy Felty, University of Ottawa, Canada
Herman Geuvers, Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands
Dan Ghica, university of birmingham, United Kingdom
Robert Harper, Carnegie Mellon University, United States
Naoki Kobayashi, Tohoku University, Japan
Orna Kupferman, Hebrew University, Israel
Stephane Lengrand, CNRS and Ecole Polytechnique, France
Jose Meseguer, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, United States
John Mitchell, Stanford University, United States
Eugenio Moggi, Genova Univ., Italy
Anca Muscholl, LaBRI, Universite Bordeaux, France
Mogens Nielsen, University of Aarhus, Denmark
Makoto Tatsuta, National Institute of Informatics, Japan
Wolfgang Thomas, RWTH Aachen, Germany
Pawel Urzyczyn, Warsaw University, Institute of Informatics, Poland
Victor Vianu, UC San Diego, United States

LICS General Chair:

Rajeev Alur, Univ. of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia

Organizing Committee:

Martín Abadi, Rajeev Alur (chair), Giorgio Ausiello, Franz Baader, Paul Beame, Steve Brookes, Samuel Buss, Edmund M. Clarke, Adriana Compagnoni, Martin Escardó Maribel Fernández, Lance Fortnow, Jürgen Giesl, Radha Jagadeesan, Jean-Pierre Jouannaud, Phokion Kolaitis, Stephan Kreutzer, Benoit Larose, Johann (Janos) A. Makowsky, Jens Palsberg, Frank Pfenning, Andrew Pitts, Nicole Schweikardt, Philip Scott, Matthew Valeriote

Advisory Board:

Martín Abadi, Samson Abramsky, Yuri Gurevich, Thomas A. Henzinger, Claude Kirchner, Phokion Kolaitis, Dexter Kozen, Ursula Martin, John Mitchell, Luke Ong, Leszek Pacholski, Gordon Plotkin, Andre Scedrov, Moshe Y. Vardi, Glynn Winskel