CSF 2010: Call for Papers

CSF 2010 - 23rd Computer Security Foundations Symposium

Edinburgh, UK, July 17-19, 2010

IEEE Computer Society logo

Sponsored by IEEE Computer Society's
Technical Committee on
Security and Privacy

IEEE logo

Important dates:


New theoretical results in computer security are welcome. Also welcome are more exploratory presentations, which may examine open questions and raise fundamental concerns about existing theories. Panel proposals are sought as well as papers. Possible topics include, but are not limited to:

Access control
Anonymity and Privacy
Data and system integrity
Database security
Decidability and complexity
Distributed systems security
Electronic voting
Executable content
Formal methods for security
Information flow
Intrusion detection
Hardware-based security
Language-based security
Network security
Resource usage control
Security for mobile computing
Security models
Security protocols
Trust and trust management

While CSF welcomes submissions beyond these topics, note that the main focus of CSF is foundational security: submissions that lack foundational aspects risk rejection.


Proceedings, published by the IEEE Computer Society Press, will be available at the symposium, and selected papers will be invited for submission to the Journal of Computer Security.

Paper Submission Instructions

Unlike in previous years, authors will be required to submit a paper abstract a few days before the deadline for submitting full papers. Having abstracts available will allow us to review papers more expeditiously.

Papers and abstracts should be submitted using the EasyChair conference system.

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with published proceedings. Failure to clearly identify any duplication or overlap with other published or submitted papers is ground for rejection without full review.

Papers should be submitted in Portable Document Format (PDF). Papers submitted in a proprietary word processor format such as Microsoft Word cannot be considered. At least one coauthor of each accepted paper is required to attend CSF to present the paper.

Papers may be submitted using the two-column IEEE Proceedings style. Papers should be at most 12 pages long, not counting bibliography and well-marked appendices.

Committee members are not required to read appendices, and so the paper must be intelligible without them. Papers not adhering to the page limits will be rejected without consideration of their merits.

Panel Proposals

Proposals for panels are welcome. They should be no more than three pages in length, and should include the names of possible panelists and an indication of which of those panelists have confirmed a desire to participate. They should be submitted by email to the program chair.

Five-Minute Talks

CSFs popular tradition of a session of 5-minute talks will continue this year. To offer a 5-minute talk, send a 1-page text abstract to the session chair, Stephen Chong, by July 1, 2010. Short talks may be trailers for longer presentations at one of the affiliated workshops, or stand entirely on their own. Abstracts will be made available electronically but not published in the conference proceedings. Provocative and programmatic presentations are welcome! Note that speakers in this session must be registered for CSF.


General ChairProgram ChairsPublications Chair
Graham Steel
61, avenue du Président Wilson
94235 CACHAN Cedex, France
Andrew Myers
Department of Computer Science
Cornell University
Ithaca, New York, USA

Michael Backes
Saarland University and MPI-SWS
Saarbrücken, Germany
Jonathan Herzog
MIT Lincoln Laboratory
244 Wood St., Lexington MA 02420
+1 (781) 981-2356

Program Chairs

Michael Backes, Saarland University and Max Planck Institute for Software Systems, Germany
Andrew Myers, Cornell University, United States

Program Committee:

Adam Barth, UC Berkeley, United States
Bruno Blanchet, Ecole Normale Supérieure, France
Stephen Chong, Harvard University, United States
George Danezis, Microsoft Research, United Kingdom
Ulfar Erlingsson, Reykjavik University, Iceland
Andy Gordon, Microsoft Research, United Kingdom
Matteo Maffei, Saarland University, Germany
Catherine Meadows, NRL, United States
Jon Millen, MITRE, United States
John Mitchell, Stanford University, United States
Mark Ryan, Uni Birmingham, United Kingdom
David Sands, Chalmers, Sweden
Vitaly Shmatikov, The University of Texas at Austin, United States